Caja China Pork Leg recipe…with a twist!

Dinner time is always a challenge for me as I look at my Caja China and think, what can I do to make this cooking experience in our China Box different? When you are so busy working everyday and taking care of your family it is very easy to fall in that meal rut. Seriously, how many days can you go eating chicken or meat with rice? So I decided to do some research and find a twist to some of the  common meals I cook with my caja china to add some spice to my taste-buds. Sometimes it is about adding a special ingredient that give it that extra kick, and I am not talking about spicy. I found a delicious roasting box friendly recipe that uses a very common item in my household…especially during football season…beer.  Don’t worry, you will not get drunk from eating food made with beer but you will if you drink the ingredient rather than cook with it!  My grandmother tended to do a little more drinking than cooking on some days…haha! The alcohol will burn off so this meal will be safe for even the littlest patron that is going to be enjoying this delicousness from  your pig roaster. The beer really didn’t throw me for a loop as much as the coke did…now that is something I have yet to use as an ingredient, which is why I had to make this recipe…

 

Pork leg in Beer

INGREDIENTS:

1 leg of pork from 11 to 13 lbs. boneless

1 beer

1 liter of coke

1 1/2 tablespoons chicken bouillon cube

4 cloves of garlic

1/4 cup vinegar

5 cloves

5 black peppercorns balls

1 cup sugar

1 handful of herbs

1 tablespoon cornstarch

PREPARATION:

Blend the spices, herbs, garlic, vinegar and chicken broth. Place the leg on a plate and bathe it with the formula. Let marinate overnight. Before placing in the La Caja China bathe with beer, coca cola, cornstarch dissolved in water and with the marinade. Place the tray in the Caja China for 3 hours (covered with aluminum), every 30 minutes should bathe the leg with her juices, once cooked uncover your Cajun Microwave style grill and sprinkle with sugar, recapping for 15 minutes until golden. Remove, slice and serve hot.

Doesn’t your mouth water reading the steps because mine sure did! The key to this recipe is defintiely the marinating overnight because it will let the juices really soak in and really give that pork leg some great taste when you take it out of lacajachina.

I served this up with some rice and beans, yuca with mojo, fried plantains and salad…typical Cuban sides that pair well with every meal, at least in my mind I can’t go wrong.  If you want to go the healthier route, a nice salad and some fresh steamed veggies can make this meal complete. I tend to try and lean more towards the healthier version but I can become over-ruled in my house. If this happened to you, compromise like I do and serve what they want and add the salad, get those greens in!

I hope this meal turned out as delicious for you as it did for me and brought some smiles to your family and full tummy’s for all that ate.

If you are interested in more la caja china recipes feel free to visit our site!

~ by mmasters305 on November 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
